The Ultimate Winter Reading List: Recent Favorite Reads

Ultimate Winter Reading List | Cobalt Chronicles | Washington, DC | Style Blogger

One of the perks of leaving my 9-5 job to focus on Cobalt Chronicles and Contracts for Creatives has been finding time to read for pleasure again! I touched on this topic a bit in this post, and I’m excited to report back that I’ve been making more of an effort to set aside time at night before bedtime to read a chapter or two in a book that I’m reading solely for pleasure.

I have quite the stack on my nightstand right now, but I’m slowly but surely making my way through my top picks. Wintertime is the BEST time to curl up in bed early and read. Today I’m sharing a few recent favorite reads plus others that are at the top of my list. I get most of my book recommendations from Grace and Katie – They read WAY more than I do so they always have tons of great recommendations!

Michael also reads a ton – he shared all 38 books he read last year in this post. We definitely have different tastes in books as he prefers all non-fiction reads. Check out his 2018 list here if that’s more your style!

The Wedding Date

Such a cute and easy read! After getting stuck on an elevator together, Drew spontaneously asks Alexa, who he just met, if she’ll accompany him to a wedding that weekend. The Wedding Date follows their story as they go from acting like a couple to entering into a full fledged relationship. Would I recommend it? YES.

The Proposal

The Proposal is Jasmine Guillory’s follow up to The Wedding Date. You’ll recognize several characters from that book. It was fun to see her writing style evolve in this novel. Another cute, easy, and fun read! Would I recommend it? YES.

One Day In December

Next up on my list is One Day In December! I’m a little sad I didn’t read this one in December as I think it has a bit of holiday appeal to it. Nonetheless, I’m excited for a love-at-first-sight story!

Educated: A Memoir

Along with One Day In December, I have Educated packed with me in Hawaii. I’ve heard amazing reviews on this memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel

Another light and airy rom-com type book, my favorite! Excited to dive into Matchmaking for Beginners soon!

Love and Other Words

Love and Other Words is a novel about childhood sweethearts who reconnect later on in life … another great book to curl up with on the couch!

Sisters First: Stories from Our Wild and Wonderful Life

Sisters First is intriguing to me for a couple of reasons. One, I have a sister! Two, I live in DC so I’m intrigued to hear the inside story on the Bush sisters childhood in the political spotlight.

Any other books I should add to my winter reading list?! Leave a note in the comments below! Happy reading!

SHOP THE POST

6 Comments

  1. Allison wrote:

    The Bucket List!
    Becoming!

    Posted 1.29.19
    • Ashlee wrote:

      Yes, Becoming is also at the top of my list!! Will have to check out The Bucket List too!

      Posted 1.29.19
  2. marla wrote:

    I’m currently reading ‘The Gown’ by Jennifer Robson. It’s a fictional tale of two embroiderers who worked on the future Queen Elizabeth’s wedding dress. Fans of “The Crown'” will enjoy this book. I also finished reading “Liver Rescue’ and “Can’t Hurt Me” by David Goggins.

    Posted 1.30.19
    • Ashlee wrote:

      Oh I love The Crown! Will have to add The Gown to my list! Also a David Goggins fan, have you read Living with a Seal?

      Posted 2.1.19
  3. Marla wrote:

    Great list! I’m reading “The Gown” by Jennifer Robson. It’s perfect for fans of “The Crown.” I also read “Liver Rescue” by Medical Medium and David Goggins “Can’t Hurt Me.” Both authors have been guests on several podcasts recently.

    Posted 1.31.19

Comments are closed.

GET ON THE LIST!

Subscribe to my newsletter and receive exclusive content each week straight to your inbox!